Matt Sheppard wins the Super DIRTcar Big-Block Series Race at Cornwall Motor Speedway!

Matt Sheppard wins the Super DIRTcar Big-Block Series Race at Cornwall Motor Speedway!

Matt Sheppard wins the Super DIRTcar Big-Block Series Race at Cornwall Motor Speedway!

Cornwall, Ont – Sunday, June 29, 2014 – Martin Bélanger – The stars and cars of the Super DIRTcar Big Block Series were in town tonight for the Mel Valade Backhoe Service 100, a complete race program was on the schedule as a special presentation was done for Danny Lefebvre before the start of the evening.

Pete Britten and Billy Decker were on the first row of the Mel Valade Backhoe Service 100 part of the Super DIRTcar Big Block Series. Britten was the early leader as Alain Boisvert was running strong in third. The first caution came on lap 7 as Mike Perrotte spun in turn 3. On the restart, Britten lost traction in turn 2 and lost a lot of ground given the top spot to Decker as Danny Johnson who was running second headed to the pits, making some noise in third is Matt Sheppard after starting in the 10th spot. Justin Hears brought the second caution on lap 25. Decker`s still in the lead as two Matt were doing battle for third as Sheppard and Matt Billings were in battle for the last place on the podium. Larry Wight slowed in the backstretch and the yellow lights were out with 62 laps to go. Decker still the leader as Sheppard got to second place with Billings passing Boisvert for third place. At the halfway point, Sheppard was on the backbumper of Decker as Billings, Boisvert and Billy Dunn completing the top 5. Sheppard was able to take the lead from Decker on the following lap as the #91 car of Decker went off turn four and the yellow was out. Sheppard alone in front on the restart with Billings and Boisvert behind the Super DIRTcar Series points leader. Sheppard got into heavy traffic with 25 laps to go in the event, the leader managed to keep his distance with the rest of the field with the feature picking up momentum. A good battle was going on for second place with 10 laps to go between Billings, Boisvert and local runner Kyle Dingwall as they ran together. Sheppard led the final portion to win his second Super DIRTcar Series over Matt Billings and Alain Boisvert who completes the podium.

Terry Ladouceur led the way in the 20-lap Alexandria Home Hardware Pro-Stock Series as Charles-David Beauchamp took the lead on the second lap. Beauchamp slowed on lap 6 and caution was out. Ladouceur back in the lead but got quickly pass by Dave Bissonnette as Marc Lalonde and Stéphane Lebrun followed suit. Claude Parisien slowed the feature on lap 12. On the restart, Lebrun challenged Bissonnette for the lead as he passed him on lap 14. Lebrun resisted to charges from Bissonnette and captured his third feature in a row over Bissonnette and Jocelyn Roy.

The last event of the evening saw Jean-Nicholas Gareau taking the lead over the stellar field of 29 cars in the Tracy Wheeler Royal Lepage Sportsman event. Gareau had a battle with veteran racer Billy Cook as Ryan Stabler joined the leader as two cautions slowed the field in the first half of the event. Stabler used the high lane to pass Gareau for the lead on lap 12. Corey Wheeler was on the charge making his way to second as the caution flag was waved with 4 laps to go. On the green flag, Corey Wheeler took the lead as Joey Ladouceur made his way to third.  Wheeler led the final laps and claimed his first event of 2014 at Cornwall over Ladouceur and Stabler.

In the 12-lap Mini-Stock Feature, Chris James took the lead as Justin Desrosiers and Frederic Faubert were behind him. The first caution came out on lap 9 as Sylvain Frenette lost a wheel in turn 2. James was able to resists a late charge from Desrosiers and won his second feature of the season.

Taking the lead in the early portion of the 15-lap Laminacorr Industries Semi-Pro feature,  Nico Leblanc never looked back and scored his first win of the season over Junior Delormier and Anthony Perron completed the podium.

Next week, a busy night as we will complete the June 22nd show with two 40-lap Modified feature, Sportsman, Pro-Stock and Semi-Pro along with the complete event of July 6, the races will start at 6pm to allow an earlier finish.

For more information on the upcoming season at Cornwall, please visit the website at you can add us on Facebook at or on twitter at @cornwalspeedway, we will use these two Medias for results and contests over the summer.

Mel Valade Backhoe Services 100 Super DIRTcar Series Results (100 laps)

Matt Sheppard, Matt Billings, Alain Boisvert, Kyle Dingwall, Billy Dunn, Jimmy Phelps, Mat Williamson, Brett Hearn, Pete Britten, Gary Tomkins, Joel Doiron, Yan Bussiere, Pat Ward, Larry Wight, Billy Decker, Billy VanInwegen, Justin Haers, Gabriel Richer, Steve Bernard, Stephane Lafrance, Mario Clair, Carey Terrance, Chris Raabe, Brian McDonald, Erick Rudolph, Mike Perrotte, Danny Johnson, Keith Flach, Laurent Ladouceur, Rich Scagliotta

Alexandria Home Hardware Pro-Stock Results (20 laps)

Stephane Lebrun, Dave Bissonnette, Jocelyn Roy, Rock Aubin, Marc Lalonde, Eli Gilbert, George Renaud, Dave Seguin, Terry Ladouceur, Rosco Garreau, Claude Parisien, Trevor Gaucher, Charles-David Beauchamp

Tracy Wheeler Royal Lepage Sportsman Results (20 laps)

Corey Wheeler, Joey Ladouceur, Ryan Stabler, Gilles Godard, Shane Pecore, Jean-Nicholas Gareau, Billy Cook, Mike Stacey, Mitch Primeau, Jon Mills, Brian Comeau, Robert Delormier, Ricky Thompson, Dillon Sallows, Justin Lalancette, Thomas Cook, Louie Jackson, Steve Cote, Patrice Dumouchel, Eric Lapointe, Scott McGill, Mike Maresca, Jasmine David, Adam Rozon, David Andre, Moise Page, Brianna Ladouceur, Miguel Peterson, Tristan Draper

Luminacorr Industries Semi-Pro Results (15 laps)

Nico Leblanc, Junior Delormier, Anthony Perron, Richard Brady, Pascal Racette, Derek Cryderman

Mini-Stock Results (12 laps)

Chris James, Justin Desrosiers, Frederic Faubert, JF Page, Dan Cook, Marc Dagenais, Elizabeth Gauthier, Marc Chartrand, Darryl Mitchell, Riley McMonagle, Sylvain Frenette, Francis Aborameh, Francis Desjardins, Steve Morin