Phil Potts wins the Go Nuclear Late Model Series Race at Cornwall Motor Speedway!

Phil Potts wins the Go Nuclear Late Model Series Race at Cornwall Motor Speedway!

 Phil Potts wins the Go Nuclear Late Model Series Race at Cornwall Motor Speedway!

Cornwall, Ont – Sunday, June 8, 2014 – Martin Bélanger – The Cornwall Motor Speedway hosted a new series this Sunday evening at the Go Nuclear Late Model made their first appearance at the speedway on Paul`s Auto Body night. The Modified, Pro-Stock, Semi-Pro and Mini-Stock had also a full show along with the banner competition at intermission time.

The 35-lap Go Nuclear Late Models Series saw Adam Turner took the early lead as he got challenged by Rick Miller. On a lap 4 restart, Miller took the lead over Turner as defending series champion Dale Caswell was running in third. Caley Weese brought the second caution on lap 8 by stopping in turn 4. A great battle for the lead on the following green as Turner was strong on the bottom lane and regained the top spot on lap 14. As the race got a good rhythm the caution went out with 14 laps to go as a tangle occurred in turn 3. On the restart, Turner stayed first over Miller as Phil Potts was now third. Bad luck occurred for Miller on lap 30 as he slowed causing the yellow.  Turner got a good challenge from Potts in the last portion of the feature. On a last lap dash, Potts is able to pass Turner at the flag stand to capture the race by .0011 seconds to win his first ever series event as Dale Caswell completed the podium.

Marc Therrien took the top spot in the 30-lap Jiffy Auto Services as Bruno Lepage passed him on the following lap as Gilles Godard stopped in turn 3 with 2 laps completed. Lepage kept first as Joel Doiron and Brian McDonald, were behind him. Doiron lost his left front wheel and stopped in turn 4 and the yellow lights got back on the field on lap 9. On the following green, McDonald used the outside lane to pass Lepage for the lead while Raabe was in third. Raabe took second on lap 16 as Stephane Lafrance pulled closer to Lepage for the last podium spot. McDonald led the final portion as he became the fourth different winner of the year in front of Raabe and Lepage.

In the 20-lap Alexandria Home Hardware Pro-Stock division, Terry Ladouceur took the front position as C-D Beauchamp spun in front of field with 2 laps completed. On the restart, Eli Gilbert leads the way as Stéphane Lebrun was now second as Todd Vance got collected hard in turn 2 on lap 6. Gilbert got pressure from Lebrun on the green as George Renaud was running behind them. Lebrun to the lead at the halfway over Renaud and Jocelyn Roy as Gilbert faded away. Lebrun led the final laps to capture his first event of the year over Renaud and Roy completed the top 3.

In the 15-lap Semi-Pro feature, Bruno Richard led the field of 12 cars to the green as a great fight was going for second as Todd Raabe the spot over Derek Cryderman after a heated battle. While Richard was alone in front, Kevin Fetterly took third over Cryderman. Richard led wire to wire in the caution free feature over Raabe and Fetterly.

Justin Desrosiers took the early lead in the 12-lap Mini-Stock feature event but got passed by Francis Aborameh on the first lap as Francis Blanchette was coming on strong; Blanchette took the lead on lap 3 and pulled away from the rest of the field.  Blanchette led the last portion and got his second win of the season.

A complete program is on the schedule for next week as the kids tire race will be presented at intermission time.

For more information on the upcoming season at Cornwall, please visit the website at you can add us on Facebook at or on twitter at @cornwalspeedway, we will use these two Medias for results and contests over the summer.

Go Nuclear Late Model Series (35 laps)

Phil Potts, Adam Turner, Dale Caswell, Brian Knowles, Shayne Tenace, Charlie Sandercock, Kyle Sopaz, Caley Weese, Bret Belden, Zeke McQueen, Johnny Hill, Jason Knowles, Brian Down, Rick Miller, Greg Belyea, Sean Beardsley, Dustin Waters, Stephane Lafrance

Jiffy Auto Services Modified Results (30 laps)

Brian McDonald, Chris Raabe, Bruno Lepage, Stephane Lafrance, Kyle Dingwall, Carey Terrance, Marc Therrien, Chris Herbison, Gabriel Richer, Lance Willix, Gage Morin, David Papineau, Gilles Godard, Charlie Rice, April Wilson, Laurent Ladouceur, Joel Doiron

Alexandria Home Hardware Pro-Stock Results (20 laps)

Stephane Lebrun, George Renaud, Jocelyn Roy, Rock Aubin, Dave Bissonnette, Rosco Garreau, Eli Gilbert, Charles-David Beauchamp, Marc Lalonde, Claude Parisien, Todd Vance, Shawn Johnston, Trevor Gaucher, PJ Peters, Terry Ladouceur

Luminacorr Industries Semi-Pro Results (15 laps)

Bruno Richard, Todd Raabe, Kevin Fetterly, Derek Cryderman, Junior Delormier, Jonathan Galipeau, Pascal Racette, Wes Bilmer, Anthony Perron ,Thomas McCabe, Nico Leblanc, Richard Brady

Mini-Stock Results (12 laps)

Francis Blanchette, Justin Desrosiers, JF Page, Francis Aborameh, Marc Dagenais, Elizabeth Gauthier, Marc Chartrand, Darryl Mitchell, Jonathan Abbott, Steve Morin, Chris James, Francis Desjardins, Natasha Lebrun, Guillaume Daoust