11 different champions to be crowned this Sunday at Cornwall Motor Speedway!

11 different champions to be crowned this Sunday at Cornwall Motor Speedway!

11 different champions to be crowned this Sunday at Cornwall Motor Speedway!

Cornwall, Ont – Wednesday, August 28, 2013 – Martin Bélanger – One of most busiest and most important evening of 2013 will occur this Sunday at Cornwall Motor Speedway as we will crown 11 different champions with 5 track champions, 3 series and 3 mini-series, will come to an end on Jiffy Auto Services Triple Crown Night. A few drivers are also in good position to take both the track title and also the series in their respective division.

Having several cancellations in the first portion of the season made for interesting championship chases as the biggest gap between first and second is only 26 points. No driver will arrive Sunday at Cornwall with the assurance of being crowned champion.

The Jiffy Auto Services Modified division will see a new driver in the champion seat as Mario Clair currently leads Chris Raabe by 26 points. Currently third, Stephane Lafrance will look to finish strong having only 9 points between him and Brian McDonald, Kayle Robidoux and Laurent Ladouceur. To add to the challenge, it will be the final round of the Gaetan`s Chip Stand Canadian Nationals paired with 4th race of the DIRTcar 358-Modified Series as 125 laps will be completed. McDonald currently has a small 4-point edge over Clair in the Canadian Nationals title and 16 points over Danny Johnson. The Doiron Engineering Heat Points Championship will also end with Clair leading over Chris Raabe and Kayle Robidoux. Several invaders will be at the speedway to try and win the coveted $5,000.

Important evening also for the Tracy Wheeler Storm Realty Sportsman category with a 50-lap event on tap also counting towards the Seaway and GM Performance Sportsman Series as several drivers will be looking for a good result in this event to cash in some extra money. Joey Ladouceur who has the rookie of the year in his pockets currently leads the way with a 14 point lead over defending champion Chris Herbison and 16 points over Corey Wheeler. It will be a 3-way battle for them at Mitch Primeau over 70 points away from the top 3. Different names are composing the top 5 in the Seaway Series as Mathieu Desjardins is leading by 23 points on Shane Pecore as Martin Pelletier sits in third. Even with missing an event Steve Bernier is fourth with Ladouceur completing the top 5.

The 50-lap event that will end both the Alexandria Home Hardware Pro-Stock season`s championship and the Mohawk Race Parts Pro-Stock Series could confirm a very strong season for veteran race Roch Aubin as he currently leads both series. Aubin must run a perfect race on Sunday as he holds a very tight margin of 2 points in the track championship over Dave Bissonnette and 10 points over Stéphane Lebrun in the Mohawk Series. Bissonnette holds the lead in the new RSI Industrial Supplies heat championship. Having a solid year again, Jocelyn Roy is currently third in all 3 series.

A 3-way battle is shaping up for the final 15-lap Evans Bus Lines Semi-Pro feature as Steve Billings is now the points leader over Derek Cryderman and Kevin Fetterly, only 12 points separates the top 3. A good run is expected for these 3 veterans.

A similar scenario for the 12-lap Baxtrom YIG Mini-Stock feature as Mike Gaucher will come in on Sunday with a 13 points lead over Danny Lefebvre; Gaucher has been a long time runner in the Mini-Stock and will be looking for a first title.

Intermission time will be filled with several draws involving drivers that participated in all events of the respective Canadian Nationals, Seaway and Mohawk Race Parts Series. Nearly $20,000 in prize and money will be given during that time.

Pit Gates will open at 3pm with general admission opening at 4pm. The first heat is scheduled for 6pm. General Admission will costs 30$ with children 18 years and under only 2$, seniors 65 and over will be 15$ and Pit Admission will be $40.

For more information on the upcoming season at Cornwall, please visit the website at www.cornwallspeedway.com you can add us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/cornwallspeedway or on twitter at @cornwalspeedway, we will use these two Medias for contests over the next few weeks.