Matt Sheppard, Brad Rouse and Roch Aubin winner at Cornwall Motor Speedway!

Matt Sheppard, Brad Rouse and Roch Aubin winner at Cornwall Motor Speedway!

Matt Sheppard, Brad Rouse and Roch Aubin winner at Cornwall Motor Speedway!

Cornwall, Ont – Monday July 1, 2013 – Martin Bélanger – Canada Day was celebrated in great fashion at Cornwall Motor Speedway as a special event involving a DIRTcar tripleheader was presented. Solid fields of DIRTcar 358-Modified, DIRTcar Sportsman and DIRTcar Pro-Stock were on hand for the series on Jiffy Auto Services Night.

Brian McDonald and Jimmy Phelps were on the top row of the 100-lap DIRTcar 358-Modifieds/Gaetan’s Chip Stand Canadian Nationals Series as McDonald jumped to the lead with Phelps and Luke Whitteker in third. The red flag came out on lap 2 as several cars got together in turn 1. McDonald kept the lead with Whitteker now second. Last night`s winner Carey Terrance was a man on the move using his preferred high lane running in sixth place with 13 laps in the books. As the leaders got into traffic, Phelps made a pass on Whitteker for second with Matt Sheppard following closely in fourth. Phelps had now his eyes on McDonald for the lead with 20 laps completed, Phelps to the lead on the following lap as both drivers swapped the top position. Whitteker pulled in to the infield and caution was out on lap 27. Phelps got good start and pulled away from McDonald with Sheppard now third. A great battle for second between Sheppard and McDonald with 45 laps in, Sheppard won this battle.

At the halfway point, Phelps in the lead with Sheppard, McDonald, Mat Williamson and Danny Johnson was the top 5. The yellow lights were back on lap 66 as Dale Planck slowed down in the backstretch. Phelps kept the lead with Williamson running hard to get third from McDonald. Williamson managed to get by McDonald with 20 laps to go. Sheppard was now on the back bumper of the leader with a dozen of laps to do. Sheppard took the lead with 4 laps as a lap car came between the top 2. Sheppard led the final laps as Jimmy Phelps went off the cushion in turn 4 giving second to Williamson.

The DIRTcar Sportsman Series was next on the speedway for their 50-lap feature event as Brad Rouse was the early leader followed by Justin Sharp and Boyd McTavish. Sharp used the outside groove to get the lead with 10 laps completed. Sharp got into heavy traffic with 20 laps done, as McTavish used these conditions to get close to Rouse for second. Rouse was back to the lead on lap 24 making a move from the inside. At the halfway point, the top 5 was Rouse, Sharp, McTavish, Chris Herbison and Steve Bernier. The feature race quickly got to lap 40 as the race had picked up a good momentum, with a great battle for second between McTavish, Sharp and Bernier in that order. Rouse in the lead with less than 5 with Bernier now running in third as Sharp faded to 7th. Rouse led the final circuits to capture his first DIRTcar Sportsman Series win of 2013 in front of McTavish, Bernier, Mathieu Desjardins and Herbison.

The DIRTcar Pro-Stock was the last feature of the evening as Stephane Lebrun took the lead with Rock Aubin in second and George Renaud. Lebrun held a few cautions in the first 19 laps as he pulled away from the field with Aubin and Renaud still the top 3.  Aubin is able to pass Lebrun for the lead on lap 24. At the halfway point, Aubin led the way with Lebrun, Renaud, Marc Lalonde and Dave Bissonnette. While Aubin was the leader, Bissonnette was on the move as he was now third just before caution came out on lap 37. On the green, Aubin kept the lead with Bissonnette running on top and passed Lebrun for second with only 10 laps to go. Bissonnette was the fastest car on the high lane and made the move on Aubin with 5 laps to go but went too high in turn 2 giving back the lead to Aubin. He led the final lap to win the race over Bissonnette and Lebrun.

A complete race program will be on hand next week as the five divisions will be in action as the Semi-Pro division will have a 25-lap feature event on Adam`s Marina.

For more information on the upcoming events at Cornwall, please visit the website at you can add us on Facebook at or on twitter at @cornwalspeedway, we will use these two Medias for contests over the next few weeks.

Jiffy Auto Services 100 DIRTcar 358-Modified Series Feature Results (100 laps)

Matt Sheppard, Mat Williamson, Jimmy Phelps, Danny Johnson, Carey Terrance, Erick Rudolph, Brian McDonald, Mike Bowman, Chris Raabe, Stephane Lafrance, Mario Clair, Laurent Ladouceur, Kyle Dingwall, Matt Billings, Ryan Arbuthnot, Kayle Robidoux, Yan Bussiere, David Hebert, Jeff Sykes, Dany Bilodeau, Tommy Flannigan, Jeremy Wilder, Dale Planck, Brett Hearn, Danny O’Brien, Luke Whitteker, Pete Britten, Billy Dunn, Tim O’Brien, Alain Boisvert

DIRTcar Sportsman Series Feature Results (50 laps)

Brad Rouse, Boyd McTavish, Steve Bernier, Mathieu Desjardins, Chris Herbison, Corey Wheeler, Justin Sharp, Adam Hilton, Joey Ladouceur, Ricky Thompson, Cory Winters, Louie Jackson jr, Jenna David, Robert Delormier, Bill Mullin, Mitch Primeau, Jason Shipclark, Martin Pelletier, Sebastien Bourque, dam Rozon, Jessica Power, Mike Stacey, Devin Caron, Billy Cook, Jon Mills, Samuel Desrochers, Shane Pecore, Dany Gagne, Ronnie Tyo, Pat Dumouchel

DIRTcar Pro-Stock Series Feature Results (50 laps)

Roch Aubin, Dave Bissonnette, Stephane Lebrun, George Renaud, Rob Yetman, Jocelyn Roy, Allen Peters, Guy Viens, Ghislain Valade, PJ Peters, Jocelyn Chicoine, Eli Gilbert, Charles-David Beauchamp, Claude Parisien, Marc Lalonde, Sean Johnson, Daniel Desnoyers, Alain Brochu, Chris Tremblay, Michel Desjardins, David Seguin, Ryan Stabler, Stephane Lemire, Steve Johnston, Bruno Cyr, Richard Bertrand