The Cornwall Motor Speedway celebrates 2012 Champions

The Cornwall Motor Speedway celebrates 2012 Champions

The Cornwall Motor Speedway held in 2012 Banquet of champion at the beautiful South Stormont Community Hall this past Saturday, April 6 as a full room of guests gathered to celebrate and remember last year’s events.

Dale Planck left the banquet with hands full of new and shiny trophies. Planck had a banner year at Cornwall in 2012, winning his third Jiffy Auto Service Modified Championship and also capturing the coveted Canadian National Series championship. He is the second driver after Lafrance in 2011 to win both titles in the same year. Laurent Ladouceur had a great season finishing second to Planck in the points title and also winning the Doiron Engineering Cup Heat Championship. Chris Raabe was a strong third in both championship titles as Joel Doiron was fourth in the point’s chase and second in the Doiron Cup. Planck’s teammate, Carey Terrance rounded out the top 5 in the Jiffy Auto Service Championship.In the Alexandria Home Hardware Pro Stock division, Joey Ladouceur was crowned the track champion in front of Ryan Stabler, Ghislain Valade, George Renaud and Dion Oakes. Ladouceur also won the Mohawk Race Parts Series in front of Valade and Renaud who completed the podium.Veteran driver Chris Herbison received the champion honours in both the Giant Tiger Sportsman division title and the Seaway GM & Performance Sportsman Series after a great year in Cornwall. Herbison finished in front of Corey Wheeler, Ryan Arbuthnot, Dan Jalbert and Louie Jackson jr rounded out the top 5. Herbison completed the Sportsman Series in front of Martin Pelletier and Dylan Evoy.The Buckingham, Quebec resident Benoit Dubois, was named the 2012 champion in the Evans Bus Lines Semi-Pro division winning this title after running in the class for several seasons. Joey Woods finished second as Junior Delormier completed the top 3.In the Crazy Dave`s DJ Services Mini Stock Division, Martin Bernard won the title by a close margin in front of Mathieu Aubin and Justin Desrosiers. Both Bernard and Aubin visited the winner circle at 3 occasions last summer.

The Baxtrom`s Independant Grocer Rookie of the award went to Shane Pecore in the Modifieds, Corey Wheeler in the Sportsman, David Seguin in the Pro-Stock, Patrick Lalonde in the Semi-Pro and Justin Desrosiers in the Mini-Stock.

The Mitch Jock Memorial Merit Award went to Berthold Robidoux, owner of BERT Transmission, a long time supporter and sponsor for different series and a leader in racing innovations. A well deserved honour for M.Robidoux. Guest Speaker and current Director of DIRTcar Northeast Sanctioning, Joe Skotnicki also spoke to the guests about his experience and valuable the racing family and also how Cornwall is important for DIRTcar.

This event ended the celebration of 2012. We invite you to have preview of 2013, starting this Tuesday until next Sunday at the Cornwall Square as 5 cars will be on display along with Go-Karts and the new V-Twin Dirt Devil Class that should be an eye opener on Tuesday nights.

We are now looking forward to the Sunday, May 19th opening night with the first series race of the Gaetan Chip Stand Modified Canadian Nationals, a 100-lap event also counting toward the DIRTcar 358-Modified Series. The first race of the Mohawk Race Parts Pro-Stock series will also be on hand with a 40-lap feature. The Sportsman, Semi-Pro and Mini-Stock, are also on the card for that great night of racing.

For more information on the upcoming season at Cornwall, please visit the website you can add us on Facebook at on twitter at @cornwalspeedway, we will use these two Medias for contests over the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply